The Moreland Sessions, Episode 6: Gallie @ The Foundling Archive

Gallie The Foundling Archive Beneath the big mural opposite the Abruzzo Club on Lygon Street, there’s a social history museum called the Foundling Archive. The entrance is via an alley off the club’s carpark, and it’s hidden in an old bottle factory – one of the oldest buildings in the area. The Foundling Archive 390a…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 5: Khristian Mizzi @ East Elevation

Khristian Mizzi East Elevation East Elevation are no strangers to live music – although primarily a restaurant and function space – and they are perhaps AOQR’s best example of a strong business built on community connections. East Elevation 351 Lygon Street Brunswick East VIC 3057 eastelevation.com.au Khristian Mizzi khristianmizzi.com Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 4: Monica Weightman @ Moroccan Deli-Cacy

Monica Weightman Moroccan Deli-Cacy Mosaic tables and warm colours welcome myself and Monica Weightman to the old nut shop on Lygon Street. Our host, Hana Assafiri, meets us outside with an enormous grin, which sets the mood for a good afternoon. Moroccan Deli-Cacy 313 Lygon Street Brunswick East VIC 3057 facebook.com/moroccandelicacy1 Monica Weightman wheelercentre.com/people/monica-weightman Directed…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 3: Rowena Wise @ Bee Sustainable

Rowena Wise Bee Sustainable Bee Sustainable 500 Lygon StreetBrunswick East VIC 3056 beesustainable.com.au Rowena Wise thatgalro.com Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Julian Abrahams Rowena is an old mate of mine. Family friends, we grew up at the same folk festivals and events although the Wise Family Band were originally…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 2: Liz Stringer @ VICSEG New Futures

Liz Stringer VICSEG New Futures Creative I’m awed by Liz Stringer. She has a huge voice; she’s a genius lyricist, and a strong solo female performer. If you aren’t already, you’re about to become her newest fan. VICSEG New Futures Creative 11 Munroe St Coburg VIC 3058 vicsegnewfutures.org.au Liz Stringer lizstringer.com Directed and filmed by…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 1: Dirt Hand @ Amelia Shaw

Dirt Hand Amelia Shaw Our first episode is set in Amelia Shaw, a cocktail bar above The Retreat Hotel on Sydney Road. Our guest is the front man for Dirt Hand, Arun Roberts. Amelia Shaw Bar 280 Sydney Rd Brunswick VIC 3056 ameliashawbar.com.au Dirt Hand dirt-hand.com Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati Recorded by Julian…

Announcing Season 2: The Moreland Sessions

11 videos. 11 artists. 12 venues. 33 songs. 1 host. Situated in the City of Moreland. Each episode of The Moreland Sessions features a songwriter being interviewed and performing three duets with host Mandy Connell in a social space devoted to the ritual of sharing time & company. Co-produced and directed by Agostino Soldati Films along…

An Otherwise Quiet Room is a Melbourne-based video series placing artists (songwriters) in local social spaces, creating shared moments where artists, venue managers, and the host can swap songs and stories in an intimate and relaxed setting. Episodes feature interviews and duets between the featured songwriter and host / creator Mandy Connell. Mandy and her…