An Otherwise Quiet Room is a Melbourne-based video series placing artists (songwriters) in local social spaces, creating shared moments where artists, venue managers, and the host can swap songs and stories in an intimate and relaxed setting. Episodes feature interviews and duets between the featured songwriter and host / creator Mandy Connell. Mandy and her…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 11: John Fox @ Irene Warehouse

John Fox Irene Warehouse John the Fox has three albums to his name – and next to no web-presence. He’s a beloved fixture in Moreland, and instantly recognisable. Irene Warehouse 5 Pitt St Brunswick VIC 3056 irenewarehouse.org John Fox John Fox does not have a website Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati Recorded, mixed, and…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 10: Joyce Prescher @ Golden Bowl Books

Joyce Prescher Golden Bowl Books Joyce Prescher is a Melbourne local, connected to a wide network of independent singer-songwriters. She attracts strong audiences to her shows, filling out the Toff In Town in 2017 for the launch of her album ‘Home’. Her reflective lyrics tend to be set in crooked structures full of jazz chords,…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 9: Malcolm Beveridge @ The Lomond Hotel

Malcolm Beveridge The Lomond Hotel This shoot features two men of quiet substance. Both supporters of strong women, calm and humorous, each has a long history of promoting artists from Australian indigenous culture. They are people of immense integrity, humility, and tend to be camera shy despite their public facing roles. The Lomond Hotel 314…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 8: Van Walker @ True North

Van Walker True North Van Walker and True North are a good pairing. Run by Nadia Camus and Brett O’Riley, their cafe True North developed out of a successful venture making a popular hot-sauce called Nordic Frost Burn. True North 2A Munro Street Coburg VIC 3058 truenortharcher.com Van Walker ramblinvanwalker.com Directed and filmed by Agostino…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 7: Kylie Auldist @ The Spotted Mallard

Kylie Auldist The Spotted Mallard The Spotted Mallard is very dear to our guest Kylie Auldist, and also to me. They hosted the launch of a Stray Hens album in December 2016, and I’d like to acknowledge their encouragement of AOQR. The Spotted Mallard 314 Sydney Road Brunswick VIC 3056 spottedmallard.com Kylie Auldist kylieauldist.com Directed…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 6: Gallie @ The Foundling Archive

Gallie The Foundling Archive Beneath the big mural opposite the Abruzzo Club on Lygon Street, there’s a social history museum called the Foundling Archive. The entrance is via an alley off the club’s carpark, and it’s hidden in an old bottle factory – one of the oldest buildings in the area. The Foundling Archive 390a…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 5: Khristian Mizzi @ East Elevation

Khristian Mizzi East Elevation East Elevation are no strangers to live music – although primarily a restaurant and function space – and they are perhaps AOQR’s best example of a strong business built on community connections. East Elevation 351 Lygon Street Brunswick East VIC 3057 eastelevation.com.au Khristian Mizzi khristianmizzi.com Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 4: Monica Weightman @ Moroccan Deli-Cacy

Monica Weightman Moroccan Deli-Cacy Mosaic tables and warm colours welcome myself and Monica Weightman to the old nut shop on Lygon Street. Our host, Hana Assafiri, meets us outside with an enormous grin, which sets the mood for a good afternoon. Moroccan Deli-Cacy 313 Lygon Street Brunswick East VIC 3057 facebook.com/moroccandelicacy1 Monica Weightman wheelercentre.com/people/monica-weightman Directed…

The Moreland Sessions, Episode 3: Rowena Wise @ Bee Sustainable

Rowena Wise Bee Sustainable Bee Sustainable 500 Lygon StreetBrunswick East VIC 3056 beesustainable.com.au Rowena Wise thatgalro.com Directed and filmed by Agostino Soldati Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Julian Abrahams Rowena is an old mate of mine. Family friends, we grew up at the same folk festivals and events although the Wise Family Band were originally…